CMHS Holds Annual Scholarship Night 2024

Crete-Monee High School Holds Annual Scholarship Night
Posted on 05/15/2024
CMHS holds Annual Scholarship Night

Crete-Monee High School held its annual Scholarship Night on May 9, 2024, honoring the outstanding achievements of graduating seniors and the generous support of local businesses and organizations.

The event highlighted the dedication and hard work of these students, who received scholarships for college and trade school to support their educational aspirations. The Crete-Monee Class of 2024 collectively received an impressive total of $1,847,799 in potential scholarships, demonstrating the community's commitment to academic success.

A notable highlight of the evening was the presentation of scholarships by the Witherite Law Group, a national legal office specializing in trucking accidents. Presented by CMHS alumna Maya Hightower, Director of Community Relations for the firm, the Witherite Law Group provided 21 renewable four-year scholarships worth $2,500 each, totaling $190,000 in scholarship funds for deserving students. Owner Amy Witherite emphasized the importance of alleviating student loan debt and supporting students' pursuit of higher education.

Additionally, the Crete-Monee School District 201-U announced the launch of the Educators Rising Honors Society this year, as well as a partnership with the Golden Apple Scholars Program to support students pursuing careers in education.

“I am incredibly proud of the entire Crete-Monee Class of 2024,” said Lamont Holifield, Crete-Monee High School Principal. “They have worked extremely hard to get to this point and have bright futures ahead.”

The scholarship recipients from CMHS included:

  • Erin Ababio-Twi, University of Illinois-Chicago
  • Adetolashe Akande, Prairie State College
  • Kimora Alexander, Howard University
  • Elijah Ayers, Governors State University
  • Vontrez Banks, Illinois State University
  • Natalia Barbosa, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Derrion Beard, Illinois State University
  • Kaycee Berkley, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Aniyah Boatright, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
  • Kimora Brodanex, Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University
  • Cynthia Cairo, VanderCook School of Music
  • Dean Cantave, Illinois State University
  • Ben Deutsche, Iowa State University
  • Evelyn Espinoza, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
  • David Fears, Loyola University
  • Carl-Jorell Fulgencio, Ball State University
  • Morgan Gillespie, Eastern Illinois University
  • Curtis Graham, Bowling Green State University
  • Tatyanna Gray, Mississippi State University
  • Isaac Gustin, Governors State University
  • Jerilyn Hale, William Penn University
  • Caitlin Hickombottom, Lewis University
  • LaNiya Houzah, Loyola University
  • Dejara Irvin, Howard University
  • Josiah Irvin, Alabama A&M University
  • Railey Jackson, University of Missouri
  • Jaden Jeune, Prairie State College
  • Sukiya Jones, LeMoyne Owen College
  • Joseph Lewis, Northern Illinois University
  • Jordyn Lloyd, Paul Mitchell School of Cosmetology
  • Alicia Lopez, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Mikayla McNutt, University of Illinois Chicago
  • Basilio Mekoum, Monmouth College
  • Khaliah Mitchell, Clark Atlanta University
  • Kimora Mohan, North Carolina A&T University
  • Joshua Muehlberg, Illinois State University
  • Nisha Sharma, University of Illinois Chicago
  • Bariya Simmons, Governors State University
  • Sa’Nya Simmons, Clark Atlanta University
  • Ryann Simpson, Governors State University
  • Rikeya Smith, Illinois State University
  • Rejon Strong, Columbia College Chicago
  • Kayla Tomasevich, University of Vermont
  • Margaret Turton, Trinity Christian College
  • Trinity Watts, Olivet Nazarene University
  • Skylar Welcome, Joliet Junior College
  • Christal Williams, Northern Illinois University
  • Damola Yusuf, Eastern Illinois University

A special thanks to the local organizations for their generosity in providing scholarships to deserving students:

  • Community Block Club of University Park
  • Crete Lions Club
  • Crete Masonic Lodge
  • Crete-Monee Education Association
  • Crete-Monee Warrior Boosters
  • Crete Woman’s Club
  • Jim Becker Memorial
  • Will County Farm Bureau
  • Will County Soil & Water
  • Witherite Law Group
  • Village of University Park

The CMHS Class of 2024 graduation ceremony will be held on Wednesday, June 5, 2024, at 7:00 p.m., at the Tinley Park Convention Center.

The Crete-Monee School District 201-U extends its congratulations once again to all scholarship recipients and wishes the graduating seniors continued success in their future endeavors.

Trinity Watts receiving scholarship
Pictured above: Trinity Watts, a senior at Crete-Monee High School, receives a scholarship from the Witherite Law Group, presented by Maya Hightower on May 9, 2024.

Lamont Holifield, gives opening remarks at the scholarship ceremony
Pictured above: Crete-Monee High School Principal, Lamont Holifield, gives opening remarks at the scholarship ceremony on May 9, 2024.

View photo gallery

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.