Click to Home
Go To Search
District 201-U Welcomes New Board Members!

District 201-U is pleased to welcome our new school board members and officers. New members, Mrs. Cheryl Roop (District 6) and Mr. Nelson Albrecht (District 7) were sworn in at this month’s special board meeting. PICTURED L-R (seated): Mr. Maurice Brown, Mrs. Jennifer Gasbarro, board president; Mr. Nelson Albrecht, vice president; (standing) Mrs. Jeanine Galbraith, board secretary; Mrs. Cheryl Roop; Mr. Mike Turay and Dr. Nakia Hall.

The special organizational board meeting held on Tuesday, May 2, 2017 was both a festive and wistful occasion as the district and community bid farewell to two school board members as they welcomed two new ones. “Tonight we celebrate those who have been led by their hearts to serve their schools and communities. We salute them for caring enough about all of our children to invest their time and effort – sacrifice their agency and energy to give of themselves, time after time – all for the sake of making our schools and communities better,” said Superintendent Dr. Nathaniel Cunningham.

Outgoing board members, former Board Secretary Kimberly Sanders (2009-2017) and Mr. Christian Anderson (2016-17), were honored with a special presentation and plaques for their years of service. Board members expressed their deep appreciation for each of their contributions to our schools and students. Mrs. Sanders, who was unable to attend, was hailed as a “warrior” and “advocate” for children, while Mr. Anderson was extolled for his listening ability and measured approach to making decisions. “Words can’t express how much we will miss you,” Board Member Maurice Brown said to Mr. Anderson. “You came in with your sleeves rolled up, ready to work and helped us make some key decisions to move this district in the right direction,” he added.

Mr. Anderson vowed to stay involved as he thanked board members and teachers for all they continue to do for students. “I feel really good about this incoming board,” he said and urged the entire school board to “continue listening to each other with an open heart.”

After seating new members Roop and Albrecht, the school board also voted in new officers. Board member Jennifer Gasbarro was elected the new president of the Crete-Monee School District Board of Education, Mr. Nelson Albrecht was elected as the new vice president and Mrs. Jeanine Galbraith was voted in as board secretary. 

"I am humbled and invigorated to have been given this opportunity to lead the District 201-U school board and continue the outstanding work of my predecessors on behalf of children," Mrs. Gasbarro said in a written statement. "I have always believed that exemplary public service opens the doors to community and gives access to stakeholders which fosters trust and transparency. I intend to be a leader who is open, collaborative and respectful of the trust that you have placed in me to lead our schools. I am grateful to our incredible teachers, staff, administrators, parents and volunteers, without whom, academic excellence for our children is unattainable. Thank you for your support," she added.

GET TO KNOW OUR NEW MEMBERS: New board member profiles coming soon!

View the District's "Thank You" salute to outgoing
members Sanders and Anderson! 

Assistance for YouA-Z Index Help & FAQs Report a Problem Customer Satisfaction Survey
Home | Contact Us | Copyright Notice | Contact Webmaster | Powered by CivicPlus
Crete-Monee School District 201-U 1500 Sangamon Street, Crete, IL 60417 Phone: 708-367-8300 Fax: 708-672-2698